Milap Nahata, MS, PharmD, has been named the recipient of the 2018 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Lifetime Achievement Award. The award will be presented to Dr. Nahata at AACP’s annual meeting in Boston, MA on July 22, 2018.

AACP’s Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes and promotes individuals who have made significant contributions to instruction, advancement of the profession of pharmacy, leadership and service to AACP, local, state and national pharmacy organizations, and research and creative scholarship activities over a minimum of 25 years.

Dean Henry Mann nominated Dr. Nahata for the award. Five distinguished pharmacy educators wrote letters of support for Dr. Nahata’s nomination, including a dean, two associate deans and two emeritus professors of colleges of pharmacy from around the country.

“Dr. Nahata has had an exceptional career in pharmacy and has achieved great success both nationally and internationally as evidenced by his distinguished record in education, practice, research and service to the pharmacy profession over the past 40 years. He essentially defined the role of Pediatric Pharmacotherapy Specialist as he has cared for thousands of children and infants, and established through his practice and practice-based research a basis for optimized pediatric dosing of medications. Dr. Nahata’s work has changed the landscape of pediatric pharmacotherapy,” said Dr. Mann.

Nahata is the Founding Director of the Institute of Therapeutic Innovations and Outcomes at The Ohio State University where he is Professor Emeritus of Pharmacy, Pediatrics and Internal Medicine. He previously served as chair of the College of Pharmacy’s Pharmacy Practice and Science Division, and as Associate Director of Ohio State’s Medical Center Department of Pharmacy from 1998-2013.

Among his numerous other accomplishments, Dr. Nahata received seven outstanding teaching awards from the College of Pharmacy, a university teaching award from Ohio State and distinguished educator awards from AACP and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). He also received the highest award given by ACCP, the Paul Parker Medal for Distinguished Service to the Profession of Pharmacy. Dr. Nahata is the only pharmacist to have received both the Sumner Yaffe Lifetime Achievement Award in Pediatric Pharmacology and Therapeutics and the Richard Helms Award for Sustained Contributions to Pediatric Pharmacy Practice from the Pediatric Pharmacy Advocacy Group (PPAG). He is also the only pharmacist from the state of Ohio to be elected as a member of the Institute of Medicine, now National Academy of Medicine; this is a highly prestigious recognition given for outstanding contributions to health care and for service to the profession.

Nahata has published nearly 600 peer reviewed journal articles and book chapters, and five books. He is a recipient of research achievement awards from ACCP, the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS), and the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). He is a Fellow of several national organizations and has presented numerous invited lectures in the United Stated and abroad. He has received the Distinguished Service Award from the AACP Pharmacy Practice Section and is the past President of both AACP and ACCP. Dr. Nahata has also been Editor-in-Chief of the Annals of Pharmacotherapy, the first and highly respected clinical pharmacy journal worldwide, since 2006.

Upon reflecting on his career, Dr. Nahata said, “Servant leadership resonates best with me, and my personal mission statement has been to serve with integrity, dedication, resolve, caring, and gratitude for positive impact. It has been an unimaginable journey of a 40-year career in academic pharmacy and I am glad that my enthusiasm and energy have only grown over the years. I am convinced my story would not have been possible without the generosity and kindness of so many patients and caregivers, colleagues, collaborators, staff, chairs, deans, fellows and students. I am grateful to all of them for being a part of my life.”

13 views0 comments